The Joint Council of Municipalities (ZVO) is a body which aligns the interests of Serbs in eastern Slavonia, Baranja and Western Srijem, coordinates the initiaives and makes recommendations to government institutions. The Council is formed by municipalities from Vukovar-Srijem and Osijek-Baranja Counties: Trpinja, Erdut, Markušica, Borovo, Jagodnjak, Negoslavci and Šodolovci.

The Joint Council of Municipalities (ZVO) in the formal sense emerged as an sui generis organization, based on Erdut Agreement, an international act that started the process of peaceful reintegration of Eastern Slavonia, Baranja and Western Srijem and Decision reached by Croatian Government on October 15, 1997. Also, Croatian Government ensured the Council's legislative status in the Letter of the Croatian Government on completing the peaceful reintegration of the areas under transitional administration (Croatian Danube region) issued on January 13, 1997.

The Council’s role as a consulting body is to monitor and analyze the issues of educational and cultural autonomy of the Serb community as well as to safeguard human, civil and ethnic rights of Serbs in accordance with the Croatian constitution, positive laws and internationally acknowledged and legally relevant agreements which determine and regulate the status and position of Serbian community in this region.

For more information please visit ZVO